The Anglo-Saxon kingdom that covered north-east England and south-east Scotland, consisting of the sixth-century kingdoms of Bernicia (Forth-Tees) and Deira (Tees-Humber), which were united in the seventh century.

It accepted the supremacy of Wessex AD 827 and was conquered by the Danes in the late ninth century.

See also
Medgaud | The Legend of King Arthur